Beauty Bloggers You Should Be Following

If you’re different in any way, it’ll be hard for you to find representation in mainstream media. Things are changing but very slowly. With the likes of Viola Davis winning an Oscar and Priyanka Chopra blazing her way through Hollywood (can you tell I love her?), there is hope that one day the media will accurately represent how diverse our world is.

When it comes to beauty and fashion, finding desi or Muslim bloggers to look to was near impossible. Until a few years ago.

Here is a list of my favorite desi and/or Muslim digital influencers and why you should be following them too!

1) Dina Tokio

Dina Tokio is my favorite human being on this planet, EVER. If I see her in real life one day, I will lose my mind. But also no, because I want to be cool so she’ll befriend me. Dina is a British-Egyptian Mulsim YouTuber and digital influencer living in London.

She mainly makes beauty and fashion videos on her YouTube channel. She’s the first hijabi YouTuber that I came across and while I may not wear the hijab, she gives you some mad inspo on moderate yet fashionable style. She also does a shit ton of really just funny videos – teaching her husband Arabic – but also talks about things the Muslim community can often ignore, such as eating disorders.

Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 4.14.28 PM.png

BUT she has a channel with her husband, Sid. On their Sid & Dina channel, they basically answer questions they get from Muslims that follow them and give advice. It’s interesting because Dina is British/Egyptian and her husband is British Pakistani, and for them to get their families approval and get married was a task.

I love them because they represent real Muslims and real Muslim problems – ranging from dating problems, marital problems and family issues, even touching on topics that are unnecessarily taboo in the Muslim community: sex and abuse.

And they’re hella funny. Like hella funny. I promise you, if nothing else, just watch a video or two for a good laugh. For me, these two are MAJOR GOALS!

2) Nabela Noor

Nabela Noor is an American-Bangladeshi YouTuber who mostly talks about beauty and plus-size fashion. She’s recently also started making funny skits on what it’s like to be a brown girl – and let me tell you, they’re accurate AF!

I just recently discovered Nabela’s channel. The first video I saw of her was the ‘100 Layers of Bindis Challenge’ when everyone was popping up with the ‘100 layers of ______’ thing. What I appreciate most about her is that she’s unapologetically desi (she’s always dancing to Bollywood music) and she embraces her body! As a fellow plus-sized woman, I appreciate all the fashion videos she makes.

Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 4.25.35 PM.png

But just LOOK at that makeup! Flawless!

3) Farah Dhukai

Farah Dhukai is by far the most inspiring and beautiful woman I follow. She’s definitely more popular on her Instagram (@farahdhukai), where she makes quick videos on skin and hair care and some makeup tutorials. This is where I get all the ideas for natural remedies for hair and skin – and guys, they work!

She uses all natural products, like aloe vera, that have so many benefits for the skin! She’s even released her own line of skin care moisturizers under the name, Farsali.

At 5 million followers on Instagram, this woman is no joke!

4) Kaushal Beauty

Okay, this girl is gorgeous! What I love about Kaushal is that she does a lot of makeup and hair tutorials for Indian/Pakistani events, such as Eid and Diwali! And that’s so important because the South Asian style of beauty is very, very different from the Western style.

maxresdefault-4

I first noticed Kaushal’s channel when she did a makeup tutorial of Deepika Padukone’s look in ‘Bajirao Mastani.’ If anyone can help me look even one step closer to the perfection that is Deepika Padukone, they’re instantly subscribed!

Also, doesn’t she look like a mix of Ariana Grande and Khloe Karadashian? GORGEOUS!

5) Huda Kattan

Huda Kattan is most probably known for her makeup line, Huda Beauty, that she started with her sisters. Based in Dubai, Huda Kattan has become increasingly popular, especially amongst the South Asian and Arab community.

gallery-1469824325-huda-beauty-all-colors

Huda Kattan has an interesting story. She was working in finance at a really high paying job but left all that to study and learn all about makeup in LA, something she’s always been passionate about. Just that in itself is something so many of us, especially South Asians, will relate to. We all have so much pressure on what to steady and what we should end up doing. Huda left all of that to go do what she loves and I think that’s what draws me to her the most.

I hope you guys enjoyed the list and find some more fashion and beauty inspiration in this blog!

And now I’m gonna go spend all my money on lipsticks! Bye xx

giphy-16.gif

Leave a Reply

