5 Products That Changed My Life!

I’ve never been the sort to have an intense skincare or haircare regimen. Quite the opposite, actually. For a very long time, I just didn’t care about this stuff. Boy, do I regret that!

Boy, do I regret that!

When I was younger, it wasn’t a problem because I hadn’t hit puberty and I didn’t wear makeup. But the minute I hit puberty, I started breaking out and my skin just was a mess. Adding makeup to the mix made it even worse.

But if you think that’s bad, wait till you hear about my hair. That’s an even more tragic story. When I was younger, my hair was huge – wavy and so incredibly thick. I was never to make a braid; the hair just wouldn’t fit.

IMG_6890

But then I f*cked it all up by blow-drying, dyeing and chemically straightening my hair.

Now, when I tie my hair in a ponytail (which I never do in public) my hair is this little, tiny rope that hangs from my head.

But we never lose hope! I’ve started taking care of my skin and hair, mostly through natural remedies, but I have found that these 5 products are actually helping my skin and hair as well.

For your reference, my skin type is combination skin, so that means I have an oily T-zone but the rest of my skin can get very dry. My hair is chemically treated so the ends are very dry but the roots can get very oily.

1471530303364

So without further ado, here are my top 5 products:

5. Clearasil Ultra 5-in-1 Pads ($7.99)

IMG_1372

Okay, I was contemplating whether I should put these on the list or not because I have a love/hate relationship with these. They’re really good exfoliating pads and they definitely make your skin feel really squeaky clean. But I don’t really know if these do all the 5 things they claim to do because I still get breakouts and using these doesn’t reduce them. However, these are really nice for those days when you’re feeling a little too oily but don’t want to use a harsh scrub. But I definitely wouldn’t recommend using this everyday if you have sensitive skin like me.

Rating: 3/5

4. Clean & Clear Night Relaxing All-in-One Cleansing Wipes ($5.99)

IMG_1367.jpg

What a mouthful! To be honest, I bought these wipes by accident because they were out of the ones I normally use (the white and pink wipes from Clean & Clear). These are so moisturizing and I didn’t realize how irritated my skin used to get before. They leave your skin feeling hydrated – not tight and dry the way some wipes do. They’re also very soft and smell amazing, so they’re really good for sensitive skin.

Rating: 3.5/5

3. First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream ($12) & Murad Oil Control Mattifier ($40)

IMG_1378

Okay, I know these are two products BUT I use them for the same purpose, just at different times of the day. I use the Murad moisturizer as a daytime cream and typically underneath my makeup. It acts as a sort of primer for my foundation and I just think it helps control my skin from getting oily while I have makeup on. It dries really fast but is still hydrating so I can slather this on during the day (especially in winter) without feeling sticky and gross. The only issue is that it’s pretty expensive. So use it sparingly. I use the First Aid Beauty moisturizer every night before bed without fail and it really helps keep my skin hydrated and moisturized without irritating any breakouts I may have. My best friend also uses this, so I’m pretty sure it works on a variety of skin types.

Rating (for both): 4/5

2. Morrocanoil Treatment ($15)

IMG_1382

This is honestly a godsend! I love this serum so much. It has instantly made my hair – which I had lost all hope for – so much shinier and smoother. I flat iron my hair quite a bit and the ends can look really dry and fried after that. But just a tiny amount of this on the ends makes a huge difference! And the difference is noticeable every single time you use it. I don’t use this on wet hair because my hair has been chemically straightened by CHI products, so I use the CHI Silk Infusion Serum on wet hair. But honestly, Morroconoil is AMAZING! It does wonders for your hair and I know I’m not the only one who thinks so. I’ve had the tiny bottle for almost 7 months and it’s not even half empty – a little goes a long way. Trust me, this product has miraculously given my hair life.

Rating: 4.5/5 (only because I think it makes my hair oilier faster – but maybe that’s user error)

1. Bioderma Sensibio H2O ($10.90 for 250ml/8.5 oz)

IMG_1370

There’s a reason this is number one. My skin has become so clear because of this. And I’m someone who has had breakout and pimples and discolored skin since I was 13. This changed that! I didn’t get pimples. Do you know how big a deal that is? IT’S A HUGE DEAL! This is basically a makeup removing micelle solution – so micellar water – but it’s OG micellar water. None of this Garnier crap (no hate, though). Bioderma is apparently a French company that makes this amazing no-rinse water that magically removes ALL makeup and you feel amazing. THIS IS JUST AMAZING SHIT OKAY? IT’S FRENCH! I randomly found this at a pharmacy in Karachi, Pakistan so it was super easy for me to get it (and it was cheap). But if you live in the US, you can either get it or on Amazon or Beautylish, but that’s it. So I’m gonna have to order it online and I hate shopping online BUT IT’S SO WORTH IT, YOU GUYS!

Rating: 5/5

I hope this post was helpful to anyone who has my skin and hair type and is looking for some products that will help. Let me know in the comments what your favorite hair and skin care products are!

Note: All products mentioned were purchased on my own and all opinions are my own. This was not a sponsored post at all.  

One thought on “5 Products That Changed My Life!

  1. You’re on the right track with everything you’ve bought. How’se the weather where you live? Your skin might do better without night moisturisation when it’s hot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

